Triathlon

Triathlon

Your scholarship in the USA

One of the most exci­ting sports event every year is the Iron Man on Hawaii. Every October 1,800 athletes plunge into the cold Pacific water, swim 3.86 kilo­me­ters, then get on their bikes for 180.2 kilo­me­ters and run a mara­thon to conclude the race. The winner can call himself one of the most persis­tent and toughest athletes on earth.
But in the mother­land of triathlon there is also a lot going on in college. The triathlon is beco­ming more and more popular at univer­si­ties. Mainly because of the perfect trai­ning condi­tions.

The college distance:

  • 1500m swim­ming
  • 40km cycling
  • 10km running

Triathlon in the USA

How many scholarships are there?

Triathlon is offi­cially ranked as an emer­ging sports by the NCAA. There­fore, the sports is on its way to be a fully supported sport. Curr­ently, there are a few college teams, that are completed by club teams.

Univer­si­ties with triathlon teams:

  • Men: 3
  • Women: 25

Full scho­l­ar­s­hips per team:

  • Men: 0
  • women: 4,5

How is the training in the USA structured?

Typi­cally, college teams train five times a week for two hours each. Most of the time, the pools, the athle­tics stadium and the weight rooms are right on campus. This way you save a lot of time and have more time to recover. Even if you are part of the Track and Field team, you can pursue your triathlon career. We know from expe­ri­ence that the running coaches are very tole­rant when it comes to triathlon work­outs and support you in achie­ving your goals.
There is a clear advan­tage espe­cially when trai­ning in the warmer regions such as Florida, Cali­fornia and Arizona, because you can train there all year round in perfect condi­tions.

What does a season at college look like?

Most triath­letes train and compete as part of the university’s Track and Field team. For this reason, as a triath­lete you compete almost all year round. The cross-country season from August to October, which prima­rily focuses on basic endu­rance, the short indoor season in January and February and the outdoor season from March to May. The national triathlon cham­pions­hips also take place in the spring semester.

Triathlon

Requirements for your scholarship

In order to get a sports scho­l­ar­ship in one of the few college triathlon teams, you should be on e of the best athletes of your country. However, due to the limited number of places in the teams, a triathlon scho­l­ar­ship is not guaran­teed.
You have better offers and more choices if you decide to become part of a Track and Field team. Here you have excel­lent chances of getting a high scho­l­ar­ship. You can get addi­tional scho­l­ar­ship money with the following times:

Men:

  • 5000m: 15:00 – 15:45 min
  • 10000m: 32:00 – 33:30 min

Women:

  • 5000m: 17:30 – 20:00 min
  • 10000m: 38:00 – 41:00 min

Your chance assessment

Triathlon

Triathlon

Dein Stipendium in den USA

Was ist das immer für ein Ereignis, wenn jedes Jahr der Iron Man auf Hawaii statt­findet. 1.800 Athleten stürzen sich jeden Oktober in das kalte Pazi­fik­wasser, schwimmen 3,86 Kilo­meter, setzen sich danach für 180,2 Kilo­meter aufs Fahrrad und laufen dann noch einen Mara­thon. Der Gewinner kann sich ohne schlechtes Gewissen als einer der ausdau­erndsten und kämp­fe­rischsten Sportler auf der Erde bezeichnen.
Aber im Mutter­land des Triath­lons geht es auch im College rund – wenn auch auf einer viel kürzeren Strecke. Denn der Triathlon ist an den Univer­si­täten immer mehr im Kommen. Vor allem wegen der perfekten Trainings­bedingungen.

 
 

Die College-Distanz

1500m

Schwimmen

40km

Radfahren

10km

Laufen

Triathlon in den USA

Wie viele Stipendien gibt es?

Triathlon ist im Colle­ge­sport offi­ziell als „emer­ging sport“ gekenn­zeichnet. Die Sportart befindet sich also im Aufbau zu einer voll geför­derten Sportart. Aktuell gibt es einige College-Teams, die durch geför­derte Club-Teams ergänzt werden.

Unis mit Triath­lon­teams:

  • Herren: 3
  • Damen: 25

Voll­sti­pen­dien pro Team:

  • Herren: 0
  • Damen: 4,5

Wie ist das Training in den USA aufgebaut?

In der Regel trai­nieren Colle­ge­teams pro Woche fünf Mal für jeweils zwei Stunden. Meis­tens sind die Pools, das Leicht­ath­le­tik­sta­dion sowie die Kraft­räume direkt auf dem Campus. Auf diese Art und Weise sparst du sehr viel Zeit und kannst dich schneller rege­ne­rieren. Auch wenn du Teil des Leicht­ath­le­tik­teams bist, kannst du deinem Triathlon Trai­ning nach­gehen. Aus Erfah­rung wissen wir, dass die Lauf­trainer sehr tole­rant bei der Trai­nings­ge­stal­tung von Triath­leten sind und dich bei der Errei­chung deiner Ziele unter­stützen.
Ein klarer Vorteil besteht vor allem bei Trai­nings in den wärmeren Regionen wie Florida, Kali­for­nien und Arizona, weil man dort das ganze Jahr bei perfekten Bedin­gungen trai­nieren kann.

Wie sieht eine Saison am College aus?

Die meisten Triath­leten trai­nieren und starten als Teil des Leicht­ath­letik-Teams der Univer­sität. Aus diesem Grund bist du als Triathlet fast das ganze Jahr im Einsatz. Über die Cross­lauf Saison von August bis Oktober, bei der vor allem die Grund­la­gen­aus­dauer gelegt wird, geht es in die kurze Hallen­saison im Januar und Februar bis hin zur Frei­luft­saison von März bis Mai. Im Früh­jahr finden dazu auch die natio­nalen Triathlon Meis­ter­schaften statt.

Triathlon

Voraussetzungen für Dein Stipendium

Wenn du als Triathlet ein Sport­stipendium in einem der wenigen Triathlon Teams an den Univer­si­täten ergat­tern möch­test, soll­test du zu den besten Athleten in deiner Alters­gruppe in Deutsch­land gehören. Aufgrund der limi­tierten Plätze in den Teams kann man aller­dings nie eine Garantie geben.
Bessere Ange­bote und mehr Auswahl hast du, wenn du dich dazu entschei­dest, neben dem Triathlon, speziell im Lauf­be­reich, Teil des Leicht­ath­le­tik­teams zu werden. Hier hast du hervor­ra­gende Chancen ein hohes Stipen­dium zu bekommen. Mit folgenden Zeiten kannst du zusätz­li­ches Stipen­diums Geld bekommen:

Herren:

  • 5000m: 15:00 – 15:45 min
  • 10000m: 32:00 – 33:30 min

Damen:

  • 5000m: 17:30 – 20:00 min
  • 10000m: 38:00 – 41:00 min

Deine Chanceneinschätzung